February 3, 2017: Dipping a Toe Back In

Hi. I’m back. I know it’s been a while. Three years, two months, one week and three days, to be exact. So what have I been up to during that time? Not blogging. And truth be told, barely even reading. I’ve read a few books here and there, including some great ones, but it’s been in short bursts rather than part of my regular routine. 

So why am I back now? In the spirit of new year’s resolutions, being a better me, drinking 8 glasses of water, 10,000 steps a day, etc, etc, I’m trying to get my reading groove back. My game plan is a combination of solid book recommendations from people and sources I trust, blogging to keep me honest, and just getting on with it. To that end, I finished two books in January and am well into my third. It’s not the #100bookchallenge by any stretch. It’s not even 50 pages a day. But it’s a start and it feels good to be back. 

Starting with solid recommendations from a trusted source, I came across a list of the best 20 books of the past 20 years on Goodreads, as chosen by the Independent Bath Literature Festival. Billed as the definitive books of the past two decades, it’s a pretty great list. I’ve read 10 and loved them all (including The Goldfinch). I figure I can’t go too far off course if I chip away at the other half of the list. First up, Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. Loving it so far. Stay tuned. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February 3, 2017: Dipping a Toe Back In

  1. Mary Fisher says:

    My goodness, it’s nice to see you back. I’ve been reading without your company lo these three plus years. I’ve read some dandies should you need more inspiration.

Leave a Reply

