December 24, 2011: A Personal Top Ten

In the spirit of year-end wrap-ups, and recalling my penchant for lists of any sort, I offer my top ten favourite reads of the year, in the order that I read them:

A Spot of Bother – The specifics aren’t with me anymore but I remember really liking it. Very funny in an English sort of way.

Never Let Me Go – Haunting and lovely, hopeful and despairing. Read it.

The Paris Wife – Oh! to live in Paris in the ’20s with Scott and Zelda and Gertrude and Alice as your BFFs. Heady times indeed.

The Comfort of Strangers – It doesn’t hurt that it was written by Ian McEwan, but it really is a superb little novella.

Atonement – Another amazing read from my literary boyfriend. I’m sure you all read this years ago.

Cutting for Stone – Totally absorbing. This is one that I found myself reading while standing in the middle of the bathroom, unsure how long I’d been standing there. And if you recall, Barack Obama read it this summer too.

State of Wonder – There’s a lot going on with this book, or you can just enjoy what is a really good story told extremely well.

The Cat’s Table – Ondaatje’s latest is accessible and pretty light but still beautifully written. And who doesn’t love a caper thrown in at the end?

The Art of Fielding – John Irving meets Jonathan Franzen meets Field of Dreams with some gay love thrown in for good measure.

The Night Circus – I’m just wrapping up this one and still loving every word. One of those books where I’m dying to know what happens but I don’t want it to end.

This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to December 24, 2011: A Personal Top Ten

  1. Claire says:

    Never Let Me Go is in my top five too. Number one is Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson.

    • Katie says:

      Really? I read Gilead and was not a fan, so didn’t read Housekeeping. Should I?
      Love lots of these plus The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman and A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan.
      Looks like I’ve got a few more for my TBR pile.

  2. Pingback: March 8, 2012: The Rooster Crows Again | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

