August 11, 2011: The Big Apple

PAGES READ SINCE August 3: 325
YEAR TO DATE: 7,086
CURRENTLY READING: Life by Keith Richards and Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
BOOKS COMPLETED: 18
-4,064 PAGES

I’m off again for a few days in New York without my husband, without my kids. If you recall, the last time this happened I was wrestling with (and losing to) Anna Karenina and was hoping for big things during the time on my own. Big things didn’t happen on the reading front, although I did miss Joan Rivers walking past me while my nose was buried in the Russian. I have less than 100 pages to go in Cutting For Stone – an amazing book that leaves me reading it long after I should be doing other things – and I’ll be packing State of Wonder by Ann Patchett, my next book club selection. With any luck I’ll have 20 titles under my belt by the time I get home. Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Biography, Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to August 11, 2011: The Big Apple

  1. Katie says:

    Good luck!

  2. Pingback: August 28, 2011: Keeping Up With The Obamas | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

