July 24, 2011: Swamp Angel

PAGES READ: 75
YEAR TO DATE: 6,343
CURRENTLY READING: Life by Keith Richards and Swamp Angel by Ethel Wilson
BOOKS COMPLETED: 17
-3,907 PAGES

The other day I was perusing the bookshelves at my parents’ house (they’re quite extensive) looking for my next great read and my mom forced Swamp Angel by Ethel Wilson on me. “Trust me”, she said. “You just don’t know.” She also said, “It’s a book.” which seemed fairly obvious but I think held deeper meaning.

According to my mom, every serious reader and writer (at least in Canada) has read it. Every last one of them. Where have I been? I’ve never even heard of it. I’m 50 pages in (Nancy Pearl, take note) and I’m really enjoying it. As usual, my mom was right.

 

This entry was posted in Biography, Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

