July 22, 2011: Why I Heart Ian McEwan

PAGES READ: 35
YEAR TO DATE: 6,268
CURRENTLY READING: Life by Keith Richards and Atonement by Ian McEwan
BOOKS COMPLETED: 16
-3,882 PAGES

I’ve made reference a few times this year to the fact that Ian McEwan is my literary crush. I’ve read seven of his novels and upon completion each one becomes my new favourite. His stories are compelling, his characters fascinating (although often loathsome) and he displays a mastery of the English language that is exceedingly rare. Perhaps my love for Ian (we’re on a first-name basis) can best be summed up in the following passage from Enduring Love:

“Like many before me, I had come to the slow acknowledgement that the mind-altering  substance of choice in a pressured, successful middle life is alcohol. Licit, social, with one’s mild addiction easily concealed among everyone else’s, and in all its infinite, ingenious manifestations, so colourful, so tasty, the drink in your hand triumphs by its very form; its liquidity is at one with the everyday, with milk, tea, coffee, with water, and therefore with life itself. Drinking is natural, whereas inhaling a smouldering vegetable is at some remove from breathing, as is the ingestion of pills from eating, and there is no penetration in nature that resembles that of the needle, except an insect’s sting. A single malt and spring water, a cool glass of Chablis, may improve your outlook by only a modest degree, but will leave unruffled the glassy continuum of your selfhood.”

There it is: perfection in a paragraph. And that’s why I go fangirl all over him.

This entry was posted in Biography, Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to July 22, 2011: Why I Heart Ian McEwan

  1. Claire says:

    Have you read Solar?

  2. leighannegraham says:

    I think we’ve finally found some common ground. I couldn’t agree more. I am also all fangirl.

  3. Pingback: December 24, 2011: A Personal Top Ten | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

