July 21, 2011: Bad Classics

PAGES READ since July 4: 300
YEAR TO DATE: 6,233
CURRENTLY READING: Life by Keith Richards and Atonement by Ian McEwan
BOOKS COMPLETED: 16
-3,867 PAGES

A recent post on Huffington Post Books listed five classic works of literature that are highly overrated. I clicked through the slideshow, feeling very excited that I might be vindicated in my recent dislike of a certain classic of the Russian variety. I felt that maybe if the Huffington Post publicly announces not enjoying Anna Karenina, then we could all let out a collective sigh of relief and relax in the knowledge that no one really likes the greatest novel ever written.

But alas, Anna Karenina was not on the list. Moby Dick was, my sister will be happy to hear. And also, The Catcher in the Rye, which I’m sure will give L-A a moment’s pause given her post of earlier today. (Maybe it’s time for a re-read?) In any event, I have now found five books that I will not be tackling this year or, if I’m being honest, ever.

This entry was posted in Biography, Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 21, 2011: Bad Classics

  1. leighannegraham says:

    Just yesterday I was thinking about The Stranger (also made the list) while walking along Bloor St, sweating profusely. That my temperature and temperment reminded of the opening beach scene.

  2. Pingback: August 2, 2011: Hipster Lit | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

