May 2, 2011: Anything But The Russian

PAGES READ Wednesday to Monday: 50
YEAR TO DATE: 4,251
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson
BOOKS COMPLETED: 10
-1,849 PAGES

I think we all knew it couldn’t last. Chalk it up to the many distractions of the past week – the royal wedding, the 40th birthday party, the recap of the royal wedding, the neighbourhood spring festival, the highlights of the royal wedding, the dance recital, the photos of the royal wedding, the federal election. It all points to one thing: me not reading Anna Karenina. I’m now solidly into my fourth month of slogging through it and I’ve officially stopped having fun. I have less than 100 pages to go, so the end is in sight but it continues to be slow-going. I don’t like any of the characters, I don’t believe in their love stories and I’m simply not enjoying the greatest novel ever written. Now if Tolstoy could write a book about Will and Kate, that might be something I could get behind…

This entry was posted in Fiction, The Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 2, 2011: Anything But The Russian

  1. Claire says:

    I just started The Pale King, which, for the sake of the blog, I will not lend you.

Leave a Reply

