April 18, 2011: The Hunger Games

PAGES READ Friday to Monday: 864
YEAR TO DATE: 3,751
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson
BOOKS COMPLETED: 9
-1,649 PAGES

Hello Hunger Games!  Where have you been all my life?  At 384 pages and less than 24 hours to read it, this is just what I’ve needed to boost my stats and get the project back on track.  Thanks to my sister for the hot tip. The minute I finished The Hunger Games I moved on to Catching Fire, the second book in the trilogy, hence the 864 pages read over the course of the weekend. So what if I’m 20+ years older than the target market for these books? Just like with the Twilight series, sometimes a bit of light reading geared at teenagers is just what the situation calls for.

The other major revelation here is that I read these books in their e-versions. How have I possibly had three babies without reading an e-book before?  It is the solution for how to read and feed a baby at the same time. I actually had the device sitting on the floor while I cradled the baby in my arms and flipped the “pages” with my big toe. (My previous solution for this problem, also a tip from my sister, was the Thumb Thing. It’s a clever little item but it’s no iPad.) E-books will never replace the tactile experience of holding a book in my hands, but I sure liked the convenience of it for my weekend-long Hunger Games marathon.

In case you’re wondering, I’m saving book three of the Hunger Games trilogy (Mockingjay) for after I finish Anna Karenina. And no, I’m no longer on track to complete by Easter.

This entry was posted in Fiction, The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 18, 2011: The Hunger Games

  1. Katie says:

    Glad to hear you’re back on track. I am holding Catching Fire as a reward for when I finish my book club book (The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – really interesting, but no Hunger Games).

Leave a Reply

