April 14, 2011: Bringing Things Up To Date

PAGES READ: 165
YEAR TO DATE: 2,887
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson
BOOKS COMPLETED: 7
-2,313 PAGES

It’s finally time for me to survey the reading carnage of the past two weeks, post an update and forge ahead. By my best estimate, I read 165 pages over the past 16 days. The days and details are a bit fuzzy so an approximation will have to do. It’s not a horrible number, although my pages read and my deficit are now in real danger of crossing. (I’m desperately looking for recommendations for long, light page-turners for my next few selections.)

The trick with writing a book blog is that you have to read something before you can post so it’s sort of a two-pronged task. Since I haven’t been reading much lately, I haven’t had much to say here. The chicken, in this case, necessarily precedes the egg. (You should see how prolific I am on my other blog, The Body Cast Blues!)

Leigh-Anne’s post yesterday inspired me to write because of her comment about epic novels (and the Russian is nothing if not epic). Is reading Anna Karenina an essential and worthwhile experience? Definitely. But am I loving it, soaking up the 19th century Russian atmosphere, savouring every nuance and period detail, caught up in the drama and passion of the love affairs and family tumult chronicled therein? Ummmm, no. I plug away because I feel I should and because I’m 628 pages in and it would be foolish to stop now. Not to mention that Catherine is finished already and has been barking military-type pep talks at me. Let me get a bit of time and space between the Russian and me and I’ll report back on whether I would have downloaded Tolstoy’s whole album or just the first couple of tracks.

This entry was posted in Fiction, The Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to April 14, 2011: Bringing Things Up To Date

  1. Shelagh says:

    I just finished “Secret Daughter” and “Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie” – both great books, but not too heavy – Secret Daughter was finished after a day of bedrest and Sweetness was over the span of a week in the evenings… May help with the page count?

    Hope the bodycast incident is working out – poor little poppet. Boys will be boys.

  2. Sue says:

    Just wondering if you’ve read The Secret Life of Bees. Or The Help. I loved both and they were page turners for me. Hang in there. Aunt Sue

  3. Katie says:

    I’ve got your next super addictive, extra fast reading teen targetted book series – start with The Hunger Games (book1 of 3) by Suzanne Collins. So good, So fast. And may I even suggest you read it via the Kobo app on your ipod touch? Super handy for a girl on the go (or not) who can’t be encumbered.

  4. Katie says:

    though tricky to track a page count on an eReader ….
    hmm.

Leave a Reply

