April 7, 2011: Of Broken Bones and Itchy Backs

CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson
BOOKS COMPLETED: 7

Ah, life. Always interfering with the project. My son broke his leg on the weekend – his femur to be precise – and apparently the treatment for this is a full-body cast. Yes, you read that correctly. A full-body cast. Armpit to ankle. For six weeks. On a three-year-old boy. You might think this would offer a great opportunity for reading but, much like the Disney Cruise, it turns out that it doesn’t.

By day, the little man is bored. This means we spend a lot of time playing I Spy, driving cars and trucks up and down his legs, staging battles between dinosaurs and ninjas, and trying to keep crumbs from falling down the front of the cast (a cardinal sin according to the how-to-care-for-your-kid-in-a-full-body-cast pamphlet). When he’s occupied with another activity, I try to read but I usually fall asleep around the second or third page (the first page if I’m reading the Russian).

By night, my boy is itchy. This means I spend a lot of time moving him into different positions, scratching around the edges of the cast and administering Benadryl. And when he sleeps, I sleep. There’s no other way to survive this.

Luckily, he is excellent company, an outstanding patient and he doesn’t mind having the Masters on in the background. We’re having a lot of fun together and if I were to include all the books I’m reading out loud to him, my page count would be quite high. I’ll be back soon with an update to my stats but for now I’ve got a back that needs scratching.

This entry was posted in Fiction, The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 7, 2011: Of Broken Bones and Itchy Backs

  1. Claire says:

    I vote for counting the pages of the Buster books.

Leave a Reply

