March 23, 2011: Revisiting History (2010)

PAGES READ: 58
YEAR TO DATE: 2,506
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson and The Devil & Sherlock Holmes by David Grann
BOOKS COMPLETED: 6
-1,544 PAGES

In 2010 I only read 14 books. Not sure what happened. I think the disappointingly low number is probably what inspired the project.

READING LIST – 2010
1/ Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee (amazing)
2/ Game Change by John Heilemann and Mark Halperin (as someone in my book club said, it’s like reading one long, juicy Vanity Fair article)
3/ We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver (good but disturbing, a strange choice for while I was pregnant)
4/ Nikolski by Nicolas Dickner (I picked it because of Canada Reads but I thought it was only so-so)
5/ The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters (a great ghost story – so creepy)
6/ Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout (very charming)
7/ Still Alice by Lisa Genova (fresh from having a baby, this one made me bawl my eyes out)
8/ The Unnamed by Joshua Ferris (not as good as I was expecting)
9/ The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (couldn’t put it down!)
10/ The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson (also great but starting to wear thin)
11/ Solar by Ian McEwan (ah Ian – can I call you Ian? – I’m so glad you’re back in my life)
12/ Freedom by Jonathan Franzen (will I get in trouble if I say I didn’t love it?)
13/ Loving Frank by Nancy Horan (a slow start but what an ending!)
14/ Room by Emma Donoghue (excellent)

This entry was posted in Fiction, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March 23, 2011: Revisiting History (2010)

  1. daddy says:

    are you surprised how hard it is to read 50 pagesa day?
    I swear I read 50 pages a day every day but not of course always great works of fiction
    sometimes it could be 5 student papers
    today it has been 2 journal articles for about 20 pages and then chapters of a book called The Intangibles of Leadership likely more than 50 pages
    yesterday it was a new course proposal (lame) and an Information Circular and a case

    Am I fooling myself?

Leave a Reply

