March 12, 2011: Never Let Me Go

PAGES READ on Wednesday: 33
PAGES READ on Thursday: 31
PAGES READ on Friday: 55
YEAR TO DATE: 2,206
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson and Superdad by Christopher Shulgan
BOOKS COMPLETED: 5
-1294 PAGES

As I wrote earlier, I’m not much for writing book reviews, other than to say that I liked it or I didn’t like it. Well, I really liked this book. It’s light and dark at the same time, gothic and sci-fi, romantic and horrible, hopeful and despairing. It’s best read without knowing anything about it, so I won’t say more except read it. I haven’t seen the movie but I’ve heard from several people who report that while the book was amazing, the movie was only medium. That’s too bad, but isn’t it always the case? The English Patient is the only movie that immediately comes to mind that wasn’t a disappointment after loving the book.

I usually like to have read a book well before the movie comes out. This is mainly because I don’t want to inadvertently find out what happens, but it’s also because I hate buying books with the movie tie-in cover. It makes me feel like I’m jumping on some kind of nouveau-reader bandwagon, not to mention that they’re usually the worst covers. This is what happened to me with Never Let Me Go. I’m a few years behind in reading it, so it’s my own fault, but take a look at the various cover options and tell me you don’t agree. The movie version is a nice image but it doesn’t have nearly the impact of the other designs – particularly, for me, the one with the paper doll inside the vellum envelope. I also kept waiting for the moment when I would read about two people running along a pier toward a pavilion by the sea and it didn’t happen.

On a separate (but related) note, why does one book have so many covers? There are still more for this book that I didn’t display. Are readers really that different from one market to the next? I’m looking to my publishing industry friends and relatives for some insights here, please and thank you.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to March 12, 2011: Never Let Me Go

  1. Shelagh says:

    I have no comment on the different book covers other than I have been guilty of searching for matching sets if there is more than one book in a series. I am kind weird that way I guess. For instance, with JRR Tolkien series, I looked over 4 years to make sure every book within the series had the same title.
    Still want to be my cousin?
    We read this book for my book club and I too really enjoyed it. Little hard to get into but then hard to put down.

  2. Pingback: The movie always has more sex than the book | 50pagesadayforayear

  3. Pingback: December 24, 2011: A Personal Top Ten | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

