March 8, 2011: Chaos and Rediscovery

PAGES READ on Monday: 35
PAGES READ on Tuesday: 65
YEAR TO DATE: 2,087
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson and Your Voice In My Head by Emma Forrest
BOOKS COMPLETED: 4
-1263 PAGES

Today I had the good fortune of being stuck in the car with my sleeping baby. Unwilling to risk the transfer to the crib, I pulled my book out of my bag (never get caught without reading material!), reclined the driver’s seat and read for 45 minutes. Okay, I napped a bit too, checked my email once or twice, but mostly I read. It was nice.

I’m not only coming to terms with having several books on the go at once, I’m actually starting to enjoy it. Sometimes I feel like reading the Russian and sometimes I don’t. Better to have my reading continue than grind to a halt while I avoid Kitty and Levin. I once thought that serious readers never read more than one book at a time, but I’m beginning to think this is wrong. My aunt Sue pointed out an article from last weekend’s Globe and Mail in which Anna Porter (a serious reader, to be sure) describes herself as “an enthusiastic but disorganized reader”. The chaos of her reading style sounds a bit overwhelming with books stacked everywhere, put down practically in mid-sentence to be rediscovered weeks or even years later and picked up right where she left off. I’m not there yet, but I am loosening the reins. Who knows? As the project goes on, I may even learn to abandon books midway through without looking back, skim passages guilt-free and perhaps even organize my shelves by colour. Okay, I went too far with that last one. I’ll never be relaxed enough to do that.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Home Library, Memoir, The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

