March 4, 2011: Land Ho!

PAGES READ on Sunday: 40
PAGES READ on Monday: 22
PAGES READ on Tuesday: 21
PAGES READ on Wednesday: 12
PAGES READ on Thursday: 60
PAGES READ on Friday: 60
YEAR TO DATE: 1,852
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro and Your Voice In My Head by Emma Forrest
BOOKS COMPLETED: 3
-1298 PAGES

I’m back. It turns out that a Disney cruise is not the read-a-thon I was hoping it would be. I ambitiously packed two books from home (The Finkler Question and Superdad) and bought another one at the airport (Never Let Me Go with the movie tie-in cover – I hate those – more on that later) all set to plow through the pages. I also thought I would go to the gym and possibly the spa, all while my daughter enjoyed the merriment and companionship to be found within Disney’s Oceaneer Club. This did not happen but oh, how we bonded. (I should mention that we travelled with four other mother-daughter teams so I thought the girls would play together…)

On the flip side, my daughter is a fabulous traveller and I was able to read a lot on our travel days. Drawn in by Time’s claim that Never Let Me Go is “the best novel of the decade”, I cracked it on the flight down. I don’t know if it’s the best novel of its decade but it is very very good. Happily, I haven’t seen the movie, I don’t know how it turns out and I can’t wait to find out.

When I returned home, I found Your Voice In My Head by Emma Forrest waiting for me. (Please don’t tell my local independent bookstore that I ordered this one online.) I read a review of it and an article about the author in The Globe and Mail and it’s the selection for an upcoming book club meeting. Intrigued, I flipped it open. Ten pages later, I was still reading. So despite my earlier claim that I never do this, I now find myself with four books on the go. But at least two of them are quick reads so this situation should resolve itself shortly… hopefully.

For those wondering about how the cruise went, we had a blast. Cinderella did indeed eat my daughter and I am still feeling the motion of the ocean. I’m not sure I’m really a cruiser or even a Disney person, but those are subjects for another blog.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Memoir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to March 4, 2011: Land Ho!

  1. dcunni says:

    Now I know where to go to find a good book Amy! Good stuff. I took The Help on a recent trip and didn’t crack it open. Just weighed down my suitcase. Read a strange book by Steve Martin recently. Couldn’t get past the fact that Steve Martin was the author. Not at all what I expected. Should have read the review first: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/29/books/29book.html

    I did read Anna K once. Almost killed me, but it lived up to the hype. Don’t have that kind of time (or attention span) these days.

    Darren

  2. Pingback: March 12, 2011: Never Let Me Go | 50pagesadayforayear

  3. Pingback: April 7, 2011: Of Broken Bones and Itchy Backs | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

