February 21, 2011: The Finkler Question

PAGES READ on Saturday: 14
PAGES READ on Sunday: 21
PAGES READ on Monday: 45
YEAR TO DATE: 1,520
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson
BOOKS COMPLETED: 3
-1080 PAGES

I finished Part 5 of the Russian this afternoon and I finally feel as though I’m through to the other side. The plot is zipping along nicely – it really is a page-turner – and I’m anxious to find out what happens. (I think I might know what happens to Anna and it’s not good, but that’s another story.) Catherine my reading buddy is doing well too and we’re both feeling good about our progress. The end is in sight… phew.

At the same time, and on the urging of my father and sister who are sick about my stats, I started another book: The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson. It’s hard to lug the Russian around in my purse for those quiet moments at my kids’ doctor’s office or in line at the post office when I can sneak in a page or two. And it’s really not the kind of book I can glance at while the TV is on or the kids are eating dinner. Enter The Finkler Question. Winner of the 2010 Man Booker Prize, it’s smart and funny and significantly shorter than the Russian. As I already mentioned, I don’t like reading two books at once, but we’re in desperate times here.

This entry was posted in Fiction, The Project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February 21, 2011: The Finkler Question

  1. You can sneak in a page at the kids doctors office? I am usually wishing I had octopus arms trying to keep everyone in one place! You are one talented woman!! Read on, Girl!

Leave a Reply

