February 6, 2011: Two-Timing The Russian

PAGES READ on Friday: 3
PAGES READ on Saturday: 7
PAGES READ on Sunday: 12
YEAR TO DATE: 1,240
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
BOOKS COMPLETED: 3
-610 PAGES

Don’t tell anyone (especially not Catherine), but I’m cheating on the Russian. Not with another novel, but with any other printed material I can get my hands on: newspapers, magazines, children’s books, pamphlets, community bulletins. After I’ve exhausted the available literature, I turn to other things, anything really. Playing Wii with my nieces, colouring with my daughter, watching the Superbowl with my husband. Anything to save me from the Russian.

I know it’s a classic, but I have to admit that Anna Karenina is boring me. I know more about the minutia of Levin’s farming operation than I ever cared to. Pages and pages describing how to mow the grass with a sharp scythe and a team of muzhiks, whatever they are. Ugh. Get me back to Anna and Vronsky. Catherine says the farming stuff can be skimmed but I’m not a skimmer. In the same way that I can’t abandon books unfinished, I also can’t skim. Catherine is committed to finishing it so I am too. She says there has to be a pay-off. I hope she’s right. In the meantime, I’m not even halfway through the book and my +/- is irreparably in the negative. I’ll never dig out from this; the project is doomed.

This entry was posted in Fiction, The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to February 6, 2011: Two-Timing The Russian

  1. No! Don’t give up! Persevere, persevere. How else are the rest of going to pretend we have read Anna? You are my only hope. Skim lady, skim. Loosen yer rules. Buckle down. You can do it. I believe in you!

  2. Katie says:

    Great advice cuz. If I had not mastered the art of skimming, I’d still be reading Moby Dick. Push through!

  3. Pingback: March 8, 2011: Chaos and Rediscovery | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

