February 1, 2011: Revisiting History (2009)

PAGES READ: 13
YEAR TO DATE: 1,185
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
BOOKS COMPLETED: 3
-415 PAGES

In 2009 I read 30 books. Huge. However, this was my Twilight year so maybe we should call it 26.

READING LIST – 2009
1/ The Night of the Gun by David Carr (if you like addiction memoirs like I do, don’t miss this one)
2/ The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill (so good)
3/ Truth & Beauty In Beijing by Claire Cameron (a secret and brilliant work)
4/ The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien (amazing – recommended by Catherine)
5/ Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson (the first pick of my short-lived office book club)
6/ The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga (excellent – another office book club pick)
7/ Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris (so funny – laugh-out-loud-on-the-subway funny)
8/ Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (sucked me right in)
9/ New Moon by Stephenie Meyer (even better than the first)
10/ Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer (awesome)
11/ Enduring Love by Ian McEwan (I still love him but this one was a bit odd)
12/ Tales from the Town of Widows by Eli Gottlieb (girl power!)
13/ Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer I’m so over it)
14/ The Believers by Zoe Heller (excellent)
15/ The Film Club by David Gilmour (if one of my kids drops out of high school I hope I can be this cool)
16/ Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell (Malcolm does it again but I might be getting a bit tired of his routine)
17/ Bel Canto by Ann Patchett (I loved this but I know some serious readers who couldn’t finish it)
18/ Barnacle Love by Anthony De Sa (not very memorable)
19/ The Time In Between by David Bergen (I love the cover but I can’t really remember the book)
20/ Consolation by Michael Redhill (not as good as I wanted it to be)
21/ The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer (sweet and charming)
22/ Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (this was a struggle for me although highly recommended by someone whose reading tastes I respect)
23/ Elegance by Kathleen Tessaro (did I read this? I have no memory of the book but I do recall deliberately leaving the book on the subway when I finished it)
24/ An Education by Lynn Barber (fascinating – a book based on a movie based on a magazine article)
25/ Brooklyn by Colm Toibin (very good)
26/ Benny & Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti (book club pick – pretty good)
27/ The Mysteries of Pittsburgh by Michael Chabon (a bit of a slog)
28/ DeNiro’s Game by Rawi Hage (not even remotely about Robert DeNiro)
29/ Born Standing Up by Steve Martin (loved this)
30/ The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolano (another one I couldn’t finish – forgot about this one the other day)

This entry was posted in Fiction, Memoir, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

