January 30, 2011: The Weight of Unfinished Books

PAGES READ on Saturday: 3
PAGES READ on Sunday: 15
YEAR TO DATE: 1,167
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
BOOKS COMPLETED: 3
-333 PAGES

While there may be joy in unread books, I feel a tremendous weight when I start a book but don’t finish it. It doesn’t happen very often, but when it does it really haunts me. I can’t bring myself to re-shelve the book; it just sits on my bedside table staring at me every night and every morning. Eventually I pick it up again and plug away until I’m finished. This is what happened with The Line of Beauty and I’m so glad I went back – it’s really a great book.

The two books taunting me right now are The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and The Elegance of the Hedgehog. Both critically acclaimed and highly recommended by people whose opinion I respect, I just couldn’t get through them and I’m still not ready to try again. The Russian is weighing me down and I can’t bear the thought of another slog. Next up will definitely be something light but at one point I will tackle these titles again. Add them to the list.

This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 30, 2011: The Weight of Unfinished Books

  1. Pingback: March 8, 2011: Chaos and Rediscovery | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

