January 28, 2011: Revisiting History (2008)

PAGES READ: 10
YEAR TO DATE: 1,149
CURRENTLY READING: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
BOOKS COMPLETED: 3
-251 PAGES

In 2008 I read 24 books – two a month. I remember thinking this was pretty good.

READING LIST – 2008
1/ The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst (a slow start but it really grew on me)
2/ A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah (very good, very sad)
3/ The Gathering by Claire Messud (I think I liked this… can’t remember exactly)
4/ Effigy by Alissa York (dark and slow with a polygamy theme but I liked it)
5/ The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory (a beach read)
6/ The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon (excellent)
7/ Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen (so good)
8/ Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers (this is not really a book – read it in one sitting)
9/ Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips (quirky and funny)
10/ The Ten-Year Nap by Meg Wolitzer (book club pick, not so good)
11/ Stunt by Claudia Dey (lyrical and lovely, Claudia is a huge talent)
12/ Now You See Him by Eli Gottlieb (no memory of this whatsoever)
13/ Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri (short stories are not usually my thing but this one was very good)
14/ The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (never gets old)
15/ Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson (moody and beautiful)
16/ Bright Shiny Morning by James Frey (another one of Leigh-Anne’s picks!)
17/ Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones (a great read – reminds me that I need to re-read Great Expectations)
18/ To The Wedding by John Berger (lovely)
19/ The Mystery Guest by Gregoire Bouillier (very odd, very French)
20/ Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill (a good Montreal read)
21/ The Flying Troutmans by Miriam Toews (even better than her first)
22/ Away by Amy Bloom (I think I liked this – the details are fuzzy)
23/ The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz (I hesitate to admit this, but I couldn’t finish this)
24/ Amsterdam by Ian McEwan (the love affair continues)

This entry was posted in Fiction, Memoir, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

