John Milton is self indulgent

Delighted to be granted guest blogging rights here.  Also set myself the task of reading more this year.   To give structure to my resolution, and to ensure quality as well as quantity, I’m modeling my endeavour on the Foundation Year at King’s College.  Already compromising, I skipped over The Iliad, Chaucer, etc. and started with Milton’s Paradise Lost. Not an easy one to battle through when suffering a hangover on the YYZ-PHX journey, but it can be done.  I believe my preference for oft-overlooked pop literature has already been noted (with snooty overtones) by my dear blogger friend.  But, I’m committed.  Kept motivated by the fact that I’ve fallen in love with Satan.  He’s the star of the show, so maybe that is the point.  As I read, I cannot help but imagine the pomp of Milton for writing such a thing.

Please meet my new boyfriend.  His name is John.

What does he do?

He’s currently working on an epic poem.

Oh.

This entry was posted in Fiction, The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to John Milton is self indulgent

  1. Welcome to the blog L-A. I love that you’re diving in with Paradise Lost. You’re a braver woman than me.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention John Milton is self indulgent | 50pagesadayforayear -- Topsy.com

  3. Pingback: I love Bonnet Drama | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

