January 13, 2011: Revisiting History (2007)

PAGES READ: 41
YEAR TO DATE: 658
CURRENTLY READING: An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin and Netherland by Joseph O’Neill
BOOKS COMPLETED: 1

In 2007 I only read 13 books. Can’t remember why.

READING LIST – 2007
1/ The Other Side of the Bridge by Mary Lawson (really liked it but can’t remember it clearly)
2/ Little Children by Tom Perrotta (quite good)
3/ The Emperor’s Children by Claire Messud (I think I liked this… can’t remember exactly)
4/ The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls (really good and a rare appearance of non-fiction)
5/ The Line Painter by Claire Cameron (so good I read it again – see my previous post)
6/ Arthur & George by Julian Barnes (excellent)
7/ On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan (a lovely novella and as you know, he is my literary boyfriend)
8/ Sweetness in the Belly by Camilla Gibb (a book club pick – I wasn’t expecting to like this but I really did)
9/ The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion (extremely powerful writing and incredibly sad)
10/ The Road by Cormac McCarthy (so bleak, so good)
11/ Divisadero by Michael Ondaatje (I love Ondaatje but this one was not my favourite – although they’re all good)
12/ How to Lose Friends and Alienate People by Toby Young (another one of Leigh-Anne’s picks for book club… I didn’t mind this but I didn’t love it)
13/ The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett (absolute perfection in a novella – if you haven’t read it yet, please do so immediately)

This entry was posted in Fiction, Memoir, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

