January 11, 2011: I really should read these…

PAGES READ: 87
YEAR TO DATE: 561
CURRENTLY READING: Netherland by Joseph O’Neill and An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin
BOOKS COMPLETED: 1

Don’t you just love a page-turner? An Object of Beauty is a total page-turner. Smart, funny, delightful – I’m loving it so far. And I’ve finally caught up on my missing pages from January 1 with a few pages in the bank for this coming weekend. Yay me.

Speaking of David Foster Wallace (were we?), here’s another list: books I really should read but haven’t yet / don’t want to / are too intimidated to start. (This is an entirely separate list from the list of books that I own and are sitting on my shelves but that I’ll probably never read.)

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
2666 by Roberto Bolano
Ulysses by James Joyce
War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
Paris 1919 by Margaret McMillan
Moby Dick by Herman Melville

I’d love to hear from my readers (both of you) what books are on your should-read list.

This entry was posted in Fiction, Non-Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 11, 2011: I really should read these…

  1. Katie says:

    I say no to Moby Dick. I did read it last year. Probably most of its brilliance was lost on me, but even JDF recommended skimming the whole middle section.

Leave a Reply

