January 6, 2011: Revisiting History (2006)

PAGES READ: 62
YEAR TO DATE: 291
CURRENTLY READING: A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon
BOOKS COMPLETED: 0

In 2006 I read 17 books. I also joined two book clubs. Ramping up.

READING LIST – 2006
1/ A Complicated Kindness by Miriam Toews (I loved this)
2/ The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger (I know, I know)
3/ Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell (complicated but beautifully written and worth the effort)
4/ Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides (I really loved The Virgin Suicides so I was excited to read this – it was pretty good but not amazing)
5/ Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam (meh – I’m not a fan of short story collections in general and I thought this was only so-so – not sure what all the hype was about)
6/ The History of Love by Nicole Krauss (excellent)
7/ Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer (also excellent – I think these two are married, no? – definite similarities in their styles)
8/ Elements of Style: A Novel by Wendy Wasserstein (not to be confused with The Elements of Style, this is something totally different and not nearly as cerebral)
9/ The Line Painter by Claire Cameron (an excellent debut novel by a talented Canadian writer – keep an eye on her)
10/ The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (so good, so sad)
11/ On Beauty by Zadie Smith (not my favourite – I’ve been hesitant to give Smith another try ever since)
12/ The Girls by Lori Lansens (very good, especially if you’re into conjoined twins…)
13/ The Good Life by Jay McInerney (again, not my favourite – chosen by my friend Leigh-Anne for our book club and our tastes rarely overlap)
14/ Crow Lake by Mary Lawson (loved this)
15/ Life of Pi by Yann Martel (definitely on my top ten favourite books of all time)
16/ The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards (I didn’t like this very much and was a bit annoyed seeing it on the bestseller list for so long)
17/ Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai (serious fiction for serious readers – I appreciated the skill of the writing but I didn’t love the novel)

An all-fiction year. Interesting.

This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January 6, 2011: Revisiting History (2006)

  1. Pingback: January 13, 2011: Revisiting History (2007) | 50pagesadayforayear

  2. Pingback: White people over the shoulder | 50pagesadayforayear

  3. Pingback: October 27, 2011: Common Ground? | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

