January 3, 2011: Have I taken on too much?

PAGES READ: 60
YEAR TO DATE: 111
CURRENTLY READING: A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon
BOOKS COMPLETED: 0

50 pages a day. 18,250 pages over the course of the year. If the average book is 300 pages long, then I’ve set myself up to read over 60 books this year. Five books a month. Hmmmm. I really enjoy reading but I do have other interests: knitting, running, yoga, TV, film, skiing. Not to mention the fact that I have three kids aged five and under, I work part-time and I volunteer in my community. And my husband will probably be looking for my attention from time to time. I’m also currently addicted to Angry Birds and I have some lovely friends who I enjoy spending time with.

My best previous reading year saw me read a whopping 30 books. I was pretty psyched about that. Last year I only read 14. Have I bitten off more than I can chew?

This entry was posted in The Project. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 3, 2011: Have I taken on too much?

  1. Claire says:

    Worse, where will you put all the books you’ve read? Built-ins are expensive.

  2. Maybe an added nuance of the project is that I have to read all the books I already own but never got around to reading…

Leave a Reply

