January 1, 2011: The Project Begins

So here it is: my project for 2011 is to read 50 pages a day. 18,250 pages read over the course of one year, 50 pages at a time, day after day after day. Not too hard, right? Think of the possibilities: fiction, non-fiction, biography, business, classics, fluff. I can’t wait.

First, some ground rules:
1/ I can bank pages. (i.e. I can read 60 pages one day and only 40 the next.) But the general idea is to keep reading consistently throughout the entire year so I shouldn’t do this too often. Weekly average should stay close to 350.
2/  If I do other reading of substance (newspapers and/or magazines), then I can reduce my daily page requirement. There’s only so much reading a gal can do in a day. Emphasis on substance – Us Weekly doesn’t count, the New Yorker does.

Other rules might come up as time goes on and of course since this is my project I can alter them as I see fit. I’m sure life will interfere, in good ways and in bad, but that’s part of the challenge. And for the record, I read absolutely nothing today. Too tired and hungover.

This entry was posted in The Project. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January 1, 2011: The Project Begins

  1. Leigh-Anne says:

    I like this project. I’m going to try it too. So much better than, “I’m going to eat only macrobiotic food”. I’m starting with Milton, Paradise Lost.

  2. Perhaps some guest posts from Leigh-Anne will be in order? I’m unlikely to tackle Paradise Lost this year but I applaud your lofty ambitions.

  3. Pingback: March 22, 2011: It’s Always Something | 50pagesadayforayear

Leave a Reply

